Prayer 11: Preachers

Dear God,

Please could You see Your way to making sure the preacher doesn’t go on too long on a Sunday? There’s a limit to the amount of holiness I can take in all at one go, and any sermon of more than 8 minutes is likely to lose me entirely. 6.5 minutes would be ideal. At that point, I’m starting to worry about lunch, or what I need to do in the garden, or how the last precious day of my weekend is slowly vanishing away and I really, seriously don’t want to be spending the majority of it in church.

Oh, and while I’m on, please could You make sure the hymns aren’t pitched too high? I’m not a natural soprano from any angle and so a few keys lower would be greatly appreciated, by me and by the rest of the congregation, I’m sure. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

