Prayer 23: being fifty

Dear God,

Well, here I am. 50 years old this year, and well over half my life surely gone. It seems like a milestone of some kind, though not necessarily an entirely positive one. My path up to now has been muddled and rather aimless, to say the least, and I honestly can’t see how the next few years are going to go, or what You might have got planned. If indeed You’ve got anything planned at all – looking back, it’s very hard to see a rhyme or a reason.

Even if I don’t know what the destination will be, please could You at the very least give me some sense of direction. Because not knowing and this feeling of constantly treading water and getting nowhere is very exhausting. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

