Prayer 112: the pain of waiting

Dear God

Why do You make us wait so long for the things You want to give us? Surely it would be far better for You and certainly for me if You just decided what it was I should have and then allowed me to have it. But, right now, it’s the waiting for Your gifts that’s killing me. Because, honestly, Your concept of time is a million times different from ours, and that’s the problem: You have eternity to play with, and I only have fourscore years and ten, if that. Well, I’m more than halfway through now, God, and it would be nice if You eased up on this whole holy waiting thing. Just a little. Just saying … thank You.

Leave a Reply

