Prayer 143: An unexpected escape

Dear God

A colleague of mine told me in the morning that she might have a big urgent job for me to do before I left for the day at lunchtime. Ten minutes before my home time and I knew that as surely as eggs are the proverbial eggs, the job would land on my desk with five minutes to go and I’d just have to stay for an extra hour or so when I would much rather be pottering round the garden having fun.

Sure enough, she came to see me at five minutes to the hour, but – joy of joys! – the job didn’t need to be done at all! So thank You for this unexpected miracle and for the subsequent lovely afternoon spent in the garden.

Leave a Reply

