Prayer 172: Being a damp squib for God

Dear God

I’m really fed up with hearing all these prayers about the importance of being fervent about our faith and “on fire for God”, whatever the heck that means. I don’t think I’ve ever been on fire for anything and, quite honestly, it sounds very painful indeed and not something to be sought after.

The particular prayer I’ve just had to endure finishes with a plea to save us from being “lukewarm with laziness”. Actually, I can’t say Amen to that, as I think being lukewarm with laziness sounds utterly marvellous and it’s always something I aim for. I’m sure there’s a space in Your heart for the lukewarm, lazy Christian, and it’s a very happy place indeed. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

