Prayer 205: The terror of death

Dear God

I have to say – and I’m sure I’m not alone here – that the thought of dying is just so depressing. Does it absolutely have to be like this? Because I do find it very frightening indeed, even though I know we’re supposed to view death as a door to be with You in a far deeper way. The problem is that I really don’t like stepping out of my comfort zone, and I’m more than happy with life with my loved one here on earth – so the thought of what is inevitably to come is really quite distressing. Help me to trust You more, knowing that You have promised to be with us in all things. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

